When I grew up playing in the playground parks of NYC, drinking from those cement-encased public water fountains (remember those?) without a second thought, the water of New York City was, as advetised and even bottled, some of the best H2O in the world! In fact, somebody had the bright idea to bottle and sell it!  That water was cold and refreshing most of the time, and there was never the thought of parasites or other unclean entities being in it.

Somewhere along the way in  the late 1960s or early 1970s, I remember my Dad coming home with a gallon of Deer Park mountain spring water, and that was the first time we ever heard of such a thing and knew it was available in retail grocery stores.

I’ve lived near rivers and larger bodies of water all of my life.  There was the mighty Hudson River, famous for “rainbow” trout upstream and legendary in that when frozen-over the Indians (native American brand) and early settlers could walk across it to New Jersey from Manhattan.  I doubt it freezes that solidly these days! lol  The bridges that traverse the East River in New York City seem to enhance its grandeur.   “Water, water everywhere!”



I enjoyed the back bays of southern New Jersey, with the salty sea air that kept me hungry for seafood constantly, and always thought, “Where does tap water come from….?”  Well it is a variety of sources, depending upon where you live.  Is it clean?  That depends upon your definition of “clean”.  As I said earlier, I choose not to drink from any faucet anymore..

My ears perked-up when I heard on the radio that Republicans in the current U.S. Congress want to take away funding for “water projects” last night. They always want to “take away” something we are used to and that helps the masses.   If available clean water becomes a political issue in America, it will be a bad situation-gone-worse because many countries in the world do not have the best clean water.  We are all guilty of, at some point in our lives, taking it for-granted – especially in historically developed countries like the United States, the former Soviet Union and Europe. However, if you step-back a minute and look at our globe, those nations are using a large percentage of an increasingly smaller available supply of the clean watershed worldwide (CWW). 

That is one of the reasons I fired-up the campaign,  and I believe, though nations will not go into combat over clean water (yet), the status quo will only deteriorate, adding to the nervousness over H2O.  I think that you will find that you and your organization of donation will like to be part of the pro-active solution that ensures an earthly clean water supply and well-drilling for it.  My plan is a method of communicating this solution, coordinating funding efforts, entertaining-through-the-pain and holding hands during times of natural disasters that deny and magnify the fragile nature of available clean water to take a shower in or have a drink of. I also reference chapter 4 of the great new book: ‘The World In 2050″ by Laurence C.  Smith 

So,what are your water concerns, if any?  Yes, I ain’t to proud 2 beg that you contribute to our unique campaign referenced up to the right of this article on your screen. Do it and let’s GO! Cheers.

